Writing Process Blog Tour

Welcome to the continuing Writing Process Blog Tour where authors are invited to answer the same four questions. Wonder if there’s any common ground? My thanks to Charlotte Copper who invited me to join the tour group.

What am I working on?

I’ve just finished a blog tour for my second story in the Clarence Bay Chronicles, Sight for Sore Eyes.

Blog Tour Event for Joan Leacott

Emma Finn has had enough of life-altering changes. Stability is all she wants right now, no matter how boring. Ophthalmologist Asher Stockdale wants her to dust off her old dream of globe-trotting photographer, no matter the cost to his new dream of home, family and small town life. Carpenter ants, a rescued Pirate, and a pair of scheming seniors help Emma and Asher to see what really lies before their eyes.

By the way, the Tasty Tours blog contest is still open. If you comment on one the blogs, you can win a $10 gift certificate. You can also enter to win one of two print copies of Sight for Sore Eyes.

#GIVEAWAY: ENTER TO WIN!

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I write Romantic Women’s Fiction. That’s contemporary stories of real people dealing with real life issues, just like you and I; families, jobs, personal growth, and romance. To further reflect real life, I add multiple generations. For example, in Sight for Sore Eyes, a pair of scheming seniors have matchmaking on their minds. Jean is the heroine Emma’s grandmother and Horace is the hero Asher’s grandfather. Little do Jean and Horace know, they’re about to get caught in their own trap.

Why do I write what I do?

Like many authors, I started writing because I couldn’t find a story that truly pleased me, so I wrote my own. 😉 I write multiple plot lines because I’m fascinated but the intertwining of events; how a slight bump in the road can turn into a major detour. I’d like my readers to take away a smile, perhaps a bit of insight, and a sigh of romance.

How does your writing process work?

With each new story, I first write a backstory document to record the events in each character’s life that has lead them to the opening of the book. I move on to a scene-by-scene outline showing, in two sentences, the events and outcomes of each scene for each plot line in the book. Then I braid the plot lines together to shape the story. Then I start to write. Yep, I’m a plotter.

This year, I’ve started exchanging daily goals with a good friend. It’s a great way to keep track, and stay on track, of all the facets of the writer’s life. Real life is included in our goals as well; e.g., walk the dogs, go to aquafit and yoga, run errands. We exchange high fives for our successes and develop strategies for our problems.

Thank you for stopping by! I’d love to hear from you in the comments below.

Your next traveling companions are:

Lynn Cahoon a multi-published romance and mystery author who lives with her husband in a small river town where her mind tends to wander around the depth and experience of small town life and love.

When not imagining far away worlds and scorching hot encounters, Tina Christopher can be found on her sofa working through her never-ending TBR pile or venturing into the real world—whether to a nearby café or a passport-required destination.

Jessica Aspen writes paranormal, twisted fairy-tale romance near the foothills of the Colorado Rockies.

9 thoughts on “Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Pingback: My Writing Process Blog Tour-Jessica Aspen Style | JessicaAspenWrites

Comments are closed.